Rent movie

Thor: The Dark World

  • 2013
  • PG-13
  • 112min
  • 66%
  • 7 / 10

During the ancient times, the gods from Asgard won a war against the evil race known as the Dark Elves. Their foe’s secret weapon, the Aether, was buried somewhere in secret. In present day, Jane Foster comes upon the Aether, becoming its host. Upon discovering this, Thor takes Jane to Asgard before Malekith, a Dark Elf, gets a hold of her and uses the Aether to destroy the Nine Realms, along with Earth.

Read more

Where to watch Thor: The Dark World online

  • rent starting at $2.99
  • buy starting at $12.99

Trailers and gallery

movie facts

The God of Thunder, Thor, seems a formidable hero in the Marvel universe. With his sheer strength, ability to command lightning, and wielding his mighty Mjolnir hammer, it might seem as if he will be one of the heroes that are impossible to beat. However, in the comics, Thor has had some noteworthy matches where he hasn’t come out on top. A hero that matches Thor’s might, Superman faced off with the mighty Asgardian in the 2003 series, JLA/Avengers. The Man of Steel was able to considerably weaken Thor during the massive battle between the Justice League and Avengers heroes. Another mythical being, Hercules in The Mighty Thor #126, beat Thor, with the Greek demigod having the advantage over Thor who had half of his power stripped by Odin.


about the movie

Thor: The Dark World, is the second standalone Thor film in the Marvel Cinematic Universe. It is a direct sequel to the 2011 Thor film. The movie employs Alan Taylor as director, after previous director Kenneth Branagh left the project, with Christopher Yost providing the screenplay, along with Christopher Markus and Stephen McFeely as the writing team. Returning to reprise their roles are Chris Hemsworth, Natalie Portman, Tom Hiddleston, Anthony Hopkins, Stellan Skarsgård, Idris Elba, and Kat Dennings. Alongside them are new additions such as, Christopher Eccleston, Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje, Ray Stevenson, Zachary Levi, Tadanobu Asano, Jaimie Alexander, and Rene Russo. The film was released on November 8, 2013, becoming a commercial success by earning $644 million worldwide, as well as praise for its visual effects and actor performances.